Revelations (An Easter Sunday Musing)

Once upon a time, on a small island in the middle of the sea, I wrote the words FIRST CLASS in bright, bold letters and stuck the sign by my bed for months on end.

It was my second year at uni, and my grades weren’t doing as well as I would have liked. No matter how hard I tried to crack “the code of the First”, I just was not getting it.

So I prayed, and prayed, and prayed some more.

And He came through,  with guidance in my choice of courses and strength to keep believing even when all hope seemed lost. Like when I had just ONE day to prepare for a an entire module’s exam.

I got my testimony, and many others in my newfound walk that I can look back and be truly thankful to God for.

And they all started with a revelation. You can only go as far as you can see.

“Now lift up your eyes and look from the place where you are, northward and southward and eastward and westward; for all the land which you see, I will give it to you and to your descendants forever.”

(Gen 13:5)

look-to-the-heavens-descendants

 

Back when I was having my challenges at school, Pastor Sam Adeyemi introduced me to the concept of vision (on Youtube, not in person lol). He shared his story of creating a vision board when he first started his walk with God, including cut-outs of his dream home, car, family and staring at it  consistently for a number of years.

And this wasn’t some voodoo, New Age see-it believe it ideology… (Gen 30:25 – 43)

Now, based on that, would I say staring at a piece of paper for months was what brought results?

Err, not quite.

Like Abraham and Jacob, it was believing what I first saw in my heart, before even grabbing a marker. It was believing in a truth that had been revealed to me from God’s word.

We all know how Abraham and Jacob’s story turned out. Abraham – a man whose body was as good as dead – gave life to millions as the father of nations. And Jacob prospered too.

And it all started with a revelation from a Word.

A revelation of God.

 

Question: What have you seen?

 

***

 I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better.

 I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his holy people, and his incomparably great power for us who believe.

That power is the same as the mighty strength he exerted when he raised Christ from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms.

Ephesians 1:17 -20

P.S. A few lady friends and I will be sharing on what we’re seeing at a meetup next month (April 2016) – The Women At the Well. Hit me up for details if you would like to join in 🙂

P.P.S. If you are a university student and you happen to come across this post, one of the resources sent my way that year was a book called Writing Your Dissertation by Derek and Ruth Swetnam.  I can’t remember how I even found it but do check out Amazon or eBay.

If you are in Lagos, get in touch and I could give you my copy.

6 thoughts on “Revelations (An Easter Sunday Musing)

Leave a Reply

