Good or God? How to Tell the Difference

It’s a brand new year, folks!

Before I get into the nitty-gritty of things, thanks to everyone who has followed me on this journey of learning and un-learning. God has been truly awesome, and I’m super excited about what is to come.

***

“It doesn’t matter how good something looks, how happy it makes you, how much fun it is, how rich and successful you’ll become, how deeply spiritual it appears, how sensible it seems, how popular or accepted it is—and the list goes on and on. If something is contrary to the wisdom of God, it will ultimately be detrimental and bring sorrow to your life.” – John Bevere, Author of Good or God? Why Good without God Isn’t Enough. (Stolen from a friend’s Facebook page 🙂 )

In January 2015, I wrote an article for ThePrayingWoman.com called Mr. Right vs Mr Right Now? In summary, I reflected on this complicated thing called relationships, and how waiting for the right guy can be ridiculously difficult… in our own strength.

Surprisingly, I find myself writing on the concept of Good or God? this time around (actually smiled when I realised the eery coincidence). I’m yet to read the book of the same name, but from what I’ve read about it, it’s really thought-provoking.

As you step into the second month of the year with your list of goals, let this serve as a guide on how to make sure you’re right on track.

I’m quite aware that this post isn’t for everyone. It’s mostly for those who are determined to do things God’s way this year and know His will. And for good reason. So reader’s discretion is advised.

A few questions to ask yourself:

1. Truly and truly, why do you want (to do) X?

This is a great question to start with and really gets to the heart of the matter.  Why do you want this new job/business, marriage, relationship, car, promotion, etc? If your motivations start and end with Self, your desire might be “good” but is certainly not God.

Some of you may be familiar with this my story, but when I was much younger, I made solid plans to become an Oil and Gas lawyer. Would I say I was passionate about studying Law? Nope. Did the thought of helping people through it ever cross my mind? Not even once. I just wanted the money that came with the description, and that was it.

money-or-passion

Looking back, I can only sigh with relief at how God saved me from the disaster that that would have been. I sadly almost gave up on my writing gift too, because of another terrible motivation that gets many people stranded. Fear.

Please don’t let this be your story. Get to the heart of the matter.

More from the Faith Series: WALKING BY FAITH WHEN NOTHING MAKES SENSE

 

2. What does God’s Word say about X? 

Not (solely) what your pastor/prophet said.

Speaking to wise counsel before making a decision is important, don’t get me wrong. But whatever they say must confirm what God has told you through His Word. Even your dreams or visions for the future must get that stamp of approval.

For example, if I was a Word-studying Christian back then, I probably would have come across this verse at some point:

“Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit.” (Philippians 2:3)

But I didn’t. In fact, the Bible was the book I read to fulfill all righteousness. But the more I grow in my relationship with Christ, the more I realise how truly valuable His Word is. No joke. No attempt at being heavily religious or cute. The Word of God is life in itself.

This leads me to ask..

 

3. Does God’s opinion on X even matter? 

Or in other words, do you have a close relationship with God, enough for His thoughts to mean much?

I was re-introduced to Grace multiple times this month, and I’m still relishing in the joys of it all. It’s dawning on me even more that Wisdom is one of the many perks of being a beneficiary of Christ’s work on the cross. Something I never have to beg for, or lose out on from messing up.

i-came-that-they-may-have-life

So when His all-knowing Spirit comes knocking, with free advice or instructions for my benefit, it’s almost crazy to turn down what He says.

Now, I said crazy, not easy. Sometimes, obedience can be a stretch, even when I know it’s for my gain. Painful even. I’ve been asked to turn down job opportunities, relationships and give up money and time, without any explanation in some instances.What some would deem insane for the most part. But while I’m cringing away in my discomfort or worrying for Africa, He shows up..

For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him (Philippians 2:13)

***

“Be careful how you walk, not as unwise men but as wise, making the most of your time, because the days are evil. So then do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.…” (Ephesians 5:16)

 

Ever had to let go for God? And how do you make decisions based on God’s leading? Let’s talk about it.

 

5 thoughts on “Good or God? How to Tell the Difference

  1. Ify!!! This is my word in season. God is telling me to let go of sonethibgs that I love so much. It’s really hard. But I’ve deided to just obey. (I’ll be sharing it this Friday).

    I nodded when I read “Sometimes, obedience can be a stretch, even when I know it’s for my gain. Painful even.”

    How I respond:
    I say “no” at first.
    Then “yes but. . . ”
    And then “Yes Lord!”

    Thanks for writing, sweetie. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m reading this a month or so after it was written… but I find it so relevant.. the question of motive is key for me.. the who thing about doing things out of conceit or vain motives got me… the why’s, and whether they align to God’s opinion. .. questions that need raw honesty…
    I find that my greatest enemy is rationalising everything.. thank God for His mercies though..
    Thanks Ify :*

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: A Conversation With God About Jollof Rice and Rejection | The Idealist's Haven

Leave a Reply

